Traffic Court And Defensive Driving School
If you wish to contest a traffic citation you have received, you must appear in the Jefferson County District Court, Birmingham Division, on the date and time shown on your citation. This is not a trial date, but you will appear before a Judge and can request that a trial be set at a later date. In many instances (listed below), the necessity of a court appearance can be avoided by signing the back of the citation and sending it with a money order or cashier’s check to:
Jacqueline Anderson-Smith, Clerk
District Criminal Court
207 Criminal Justice Center
801 North Richard Arrington, Jr. Blvd.
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
Personal checks are not accepted. You may also pay with credit card by calling 877-252-7294. Payment must be received by the Clerk’s Office before the court date listed on your citation. If you have questions, please contact the Alabama Traffic Service Center or call toll free 866-954-9399. If payment is not made before the court date and you fail to appear in court, a warrant may be issued for your arrest and your driver’s license may be suspended by the Alabama Department of Public Safety. Additional fines may also be imposed.
The following charges may be paid without appearing in court. (If you are charged with a traffic violation not listed, you will need to appear in court on the date and time shown on your citation):
Speeding (85 mph or below)*
Speeding (86 mph to 89 mph)*
Speeding (90 mph to 99 mph)*
Driving on the wrong side of the road*
Failure to stop at Railroad Crossing*
Failure to yield Right of Way*
Following too closely*
Improper lane change*
Running Red Light or Stop Sign*
Sleeping on highway*
Driving without a license
Failure to dim headlights
Failure to use Safety Belt
Failure to use Child Restraint
Improper or no rearview mirror
Improper window tinting or remove and show proof
No helmet (motorcycle)
Violating Driver License Restrictions
Defensive Driving School Option
If you have received a traffic citation listed above with an asterisk (*), your case may be eligible for dismissal if you successfully complete Defensive Driving School and pay court costs. You may be eligible if:
- You are not charged with an ineligible offense;
- You have not received a moving violation in the past three (3) years;
- You have not been arrested for DUI.
All applicants must be approved by the District Attorney’s Office. To determine your eligibility, please contact the Traffic Unit of the Jefferson County District Attorney’s Office, Birmingham Division, within 14 days of receiving your traffic citation. Communication may be made via email at firstname.lastname@example.org or via telephone message line at (205) 325-5871. Be sure to include your UTC number (located in the upper right of your citation); your date of birth, and your contact information.
Visit 10jc.alacourt.gov for more information.